The Mercury Mushak electric pickup claims a 1,050 kg payload on a 12 ft load deck, and that is the number small-fleet owners will care about most. Mercury EV-Tech showed the pickup in a walkaround while it was still in the R&D stage. There is no booking window yet and, importantly, no price has been announced. Here is everything the walkaround showed, checked against what the company itself publishes.
Quick Verdict
- Who should buy: Small fleet owners and traders who run heavy but short, fixed routes (building material, LPG, FMCG, mandi loads) and need payload more than comfort features.
- Who should skip: Anyone who needs a confirmed price, a certified range figure or a bookable vehicle today.
- Biggest compromise: It is still a prototype. Specs shown in the video do not fully match the company’s website.
- Value rating: Not rated. Price is unannounced. On paper, payload per rupee could be strong, but that cannot be verified yet.
Table of Contents
What Is the Mercury Mushak?
The Mushak is an electric four-wheeler pickup from Mercury EV-Tech Limited, a Vadodara-based maker that builds its batteries, chassis and motor controllers in-house, according to its website. The company already sells electric loaders and passenger three-wheelers. The Mushak is its attempt at a proper cabin-and-deck mini truck.
The front profile is boxy and upright. The walkaround compared it to the Maruti Omni’s face, though it looks larger and slightly wider than a Tata Ace from the front.

Mercury Mushak Specifications
| Parameter | Shown in Walkaround (Prototype) | Mercury Website Listing |
|---|---|---|
| Payload | 1,050 kg | 1,000 kg |
| Battery | 96V, 200Ah | 96V 200Ah (96V 400Ah optional) |
| Range | 150 km single battery; 200+ km with dual battery option | 300 km |
| Motor | 15 kW, 96V PMS motor, rear-wheel drive | AC induction traction motor |
| Charger | 220V AC onboard | Single-phase 220V, 16A socket, inbuilt charger |
| Load deck | 12 ft | Not listed |
| Suspension | Leaf spring, front and rear | Telescopic shocker listed |
| Tyres | 13-inch, front and rear | 4 + 1 spare |
| Top speed | Not stated | 70 km/h |
The gap is worth noting. The official Mushak page lists a 300 km range, a 1,000 kg payload and a different motor type, while the walkaround vehicle showed 150 km and 1,050 kg. The simplest reading is that the shown vehicle is an R&D build and the final production specification may change. Treat every number here as provisional until Mercury publishes certified figures. The 96V 200Ah pack works out to roughly 19.2 kWh of nominal capacity (96 x 200), which is our own arithmetic, not a company claim.

Exterior, Deck and Suspension
Up front you get halogen headlamps with halogen turn indicators, a black bumper with a reflector on each side, a number plate section, a towing hook below and two wipers. The side profile shows tall deck walls, which suggests a deep cargo container, and the 12 ft deck is the headline dimension.
Both axles use leaf spring suspension. That is the conventional choice for load carriers and usually copes well with heavy loads. Mirrors are body-coloured, door handles are chrome, and a small side indicator is fitted. There are wheel caps on all four wheels, and the 13-inch tyres are small for a vehicle of this size.

Battery, Motor and Range
Power comes from a 15 kW, 96V motor driving the rear wheels. The battery is 96V 200Ah, charged through an onboard 220V AC charger, and there is a separate small 12V auxiliary battery. The walkaround claims 150 km on a single charge, with a dual-battery option that stretches this beyond 200 km.
No ARAI or similar certified range was quoted. Range with a full 1,000 kg load will be lower than with an empty deck, so a fleet owner should test it on their own route before committing.

Cabin, Features and Infotainment
The cabin is the surprise. The walkaround showed soft-touch door panels, a glossy dashboard finish, an adjustable, reclining and sliding driver seat, and a premium-looking roof lining. There is seating for the driver plus one passenger in captain-style seats. A grab handle helps with entry.
- 10-inch Android-based infotainment with Bluetooth, navigation and Play Store (no wireless Android Auto or CarPlay)
- Digital instrument cluster with speed, trip meter, odometer, RPM-style readout and door-open warning
- Rear-view camera that activates in reverse, with decent image quality
- Rotary dial for Drive, Neutral and Reverse, plus a manual handbrake
- AC vents on both sides (none in the centre), lockable glovebox, USB charging, cabin LED light, sun visors and a manual day/night mirror
- Emergency stop button and a manual door window winder
There is no clutch, only brake and accelerator. The steering wheel has no controls.
The Deal-Breakers
- Missing basics: No central locking, no remote key and no hazard-light switch were found on the vehicle shown. For a commercial vehicle on busy roads, a hazard switch is a real omission.
- Halogen lighting: Headlamps and indicators are halogen, which is dated for an EV.
- Prototype status: The vehicle is still in R&D. Specs, features and even the final name or variants can change before production.
- No price: The walkaround called pricing “very low” but did not state a figure. Without a price, no total-cost-of-ownership comparison is possible.
Does It Really Have the Highest Payload?
The walkaround claimed no other electric vehicle in the market offers this payload. That claim does not hold. Tata Motors’ Intra EV Pickup was launched in April 2026 with a 1,750 kg payload, a 72 kW motor and a certified 211 km range, priced from ₹11.95 lakh ex-showroom, according to EVReporter. Euler Motors’ Turbo EV1000 also targets the 1,000 kg class, as covered by EV Tech News. Where the Mushak could still win is the segment between small cargo three-wheelers and the 1.7-tonne pickups: if Mercury prices it well below ₹10 lakh, a 1-tonne EV with a car-like cabin would be competitive.
| Model | Payload | Range | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mercury Mushak (prototype) | 1,050 kg (claimed) | 150 km, 200+ km dual battery | Not announced |
| Tata Intra EV Pickup | 1,750 kg | 211 km (certified) | From ₹11.95 lakh |
| Euler Turbo EV1000 | 1,000 kg class | Varies by pack | Check dealer |
Launch Date and Booking
The Mushak cannot be booked yet. The walkaround said a launch is expected within a month or two, and bookings should open after that. Mercury lists dealers across Gujarat, including Ahmedabad, Vadodara, Surat and Rajkot, so expect the early rollout to centre there. Contact details and a brochure are on the official Mushak page.
Autoakhbar Bottom Line
The Mushak’s 1,050 kg payload and 12 ft deck make it an interesting pickup on paper, and the cabin is more premium than most loaders offer. But it is a prototype with an unannounced price, a mismatch between video and website specs, and missing basics like a hazard switch. Wait for the production launch, certified range and a real price. If you run short, heavy, repeat routes, put it on your shortlist next to the Tata Intra EV and Euler Turbo EV1000.
FAQ
What is the payload of the Mercury Mushak?
The walkaround vehicle was shown with a 1,050 kg payload. Mercury’s website lists 1,000 kg.
What is the range of the Mercury Mushak electric pickup?
The prototype claimed 150 km on a single battery and 200+ km with a dual battery. Mercury’s website lists 300 km, so wait for a certified figure.
What is the price of the Mercury Mushak?
No price has been announced. Check Mercury EV-Tech or a local dealer after launch.
Can I book the Mercury Mushak now?
Not based on the walkaround, which described it as still in R&D with a launch expected within a month or two. Confirm with Mercury EV-Tech.
Does the Mushak have a hazard switch or central locking?
Neither was present on the vehicle shown. A simple key and no central locking were noted.



